First time lucky!

The Rashtriya Swatantra Party is a new born, and all its candidates for parliamentary elections, had joined the electoral race for the first time. But the candidates from other parties were not as lucky as the seven who made it to parliament in their first attempt itself.

Yet, the RSP was not the only party that witnessed first timers victory to federal parliament.

Pradeep Poudel (Kathmanu-5), Yogesh Gauchan (Mustang -1), Santosh Chalise (Kathmandu-3) , and Rajendra Bajgain(Gorkha-1) –all from the Nepali Congress—wrested the seats from their more formidable and senior rivals.

Similarly, Thakur Gaire (Palpa-2), Surya Thapa (Pyuthan-1), Mahesh Kumar Bartaula (Makwanpur-2), Surya Dhakal (Banke-1) from the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist made to the list of ‘first time success.’

Rashtriya Prajatantra Party’s Gyanendra Shahi secured a landslide victory in Jumla-1 where his party had secured less than 600 votes during the local bodies elections.

Ranjita Shrestha Chaudhary (Kailali-1) , wife of Resham Lal Choudhary, Arun Chaudhery (Kailali-2) won the election as a Nagarik Unmukti Party candidates. Dr. CK Raut (Saptari-2), from Janamat Party also won the election in his first attempt.

The RSP winners include Rabi Lamichhane (Chitwan-2), Sobita Gautam (Kathmandu-2),  Dr. Tosima Karki (Lalitpur-3), Hari Dhakal (Chitwan-1), Sisir Khanal (Kathmandu-6) Ganesh Parajuli (Kathmandu-7)  and Birajbhakta Shrestha (Kathmandu-8).