Wagle elected, Rabi leading hugely in Chitwan, Yadav in lead in Bara

Kathmandu, 25 Apr: Promises defying the election commission’s code of conduct were not very uncommon in Tanaun-1 and Chitwan -2.

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal promised to make Jit Narayan Shrestha, a Congress candidate pitted against RSP’s Rabi Lamichhane a minister in case he won the election.

Nepali Congress Chief Deuba made similar promise in Tanahu assuring NC candidate Gobinda Bhattaraia will be in the cabinet.

But respective electorate refused to fall prey to the promises of these leaders, and elected two candidates–Swarnim Wagle and Rabi Lamichhane from Tanahu 1 and Chitwan 2 respectively, knowing full well they would only be occupying opposition benches in parliament.

Wagle won handsomely, polling more votes (34,480) than Bhattarai’s and Sarbendra Khanal (UML) put together.

Lamichhane has secured 40,000 votes in Chitwan 2 establishing a comfortable lead over his nearest rival Jit Narayan Shrestha’s 7400 votes.

Reports from Bara say Upendra Yadav is leading, currently securing 9800 plus votes.