Three scientists share Nobel Prize in Physics 2023

Kathmandu, 03 Oct: Three scientists Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’ Huillier have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.”

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards the Nobel Prize in Physics said their experiments “have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. They have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.”

This year’s award is the 117th Nobel prize to be presented in Physics since 1901 said The Guardian adding L’Huillier is only the fifth woman to receive the prize.