Ruling and Opposition alliance to contest Deputy Speaker’s Election

Indira Rana Magar (left) and Mukta Kumari Yadav (right)

Indira Rana Magar from Rashtriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has filed her candidature for the post of Deputy Speaker.

Sobita Gautam (RSP) has proposed her while Rajendra Lingden (RPP), Narayani Sharma (MC) and Krishan Gopal Shrestha (UML) have seconded the proposal.

Likewise, NC has proposed Mukta Kumari Yadav in the House for the post.  Yadav was proposed by Badri Pandey (NC) and seconded by Metmani Chaudhary (US) and Sarbendra Nath Sukal (JSP).

The election of the Deputy Speaker is scheduled for Saturday, 21 January as the senior most member of the House of Representatives (HoR) Pashupati Shumsher JB Rana informed at the HoR meeting held Thursday.

Secretary at the Federal Parliament Secretariat Gopalnath Yogi has been assigned as the Election Officer for the election of the Deputy Speaker.