Prez Bhandari administered oath to new PM and ministers

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari today administered the oath of office and secrecy to Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda), chairperson of Communist Party Nepal (Maoist Centre) as the new Prime Minister heading a coalition government.

Along with Dahal 8-member ministry council that includes three deputy PMs came into existence today.

The president Bhandari also administered the oath to other 7 ministers at a special ceremony held at Sheetal Niwas, a day after she appointed Prachanda as PM who was supported as the joint candidate by six pol parties and independents together mustering 169 members in a house of 275 members.

The cabinet formed under article 176 (2) of the constitution will have to secure vote of confidence within a month.

The cabinet that cannot exceed 25 members will be expanded after the constituent parties decide on their representation in the cabinet and the portfolios is agreed upon.

Of the 7 ministers appointed today, they are Rabi Lamichhane from RSP (deputy PM and Minister of Home Affairs), Bishnu Prasad Poudel from CPN-UML (deputy PM and Minister of Finance) and Narayan Kaji Shrestha from CPN-Maoist Center (deputy PM and Minister of Infrastructure Development). Similarly, three other ministers Jawala Kumari Shah, Damodar Bhandari and Rajendra Kumar Rai from CPN-UML and a minister Abdhul Khan from Janamat Party who were sworn-in today are yet to be assigned the portfolio.