Lalita Niwas Land Scam: Arrest warrant issued against four former ministers

The Central Investigation Bureau (CIB) has issued arrest warrants against four former ministers in connection with the Lalita Niwas Land Scam.

Former Deputy Prime Minister and Physical Planning Minister Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar, State Minister Sanjay Kumar Shah, former Land Reform Minister Chandra Dev Joshi and Dambar Shrestha are the ones in the list, police said.

The arrest warrant against former ministers was issued following the Supreme Court’s verdict on Sunday to investigate those directly involved in decision making.

A division bench of Justices Anil Kumar Sinha and Dr Kumar Chudal had issued the order that had also removed the hurdle towards investigating two former Prime ministers Baburam Bhattarai and Madhav Kumar Nepal.

With the latest act of the CIB, the number of warrants issued in the scam has reached 410 including former ministers and government secretaries.