ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier: Nepal beats Malaysia by five runs

Under the ongoing ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier, Nepal won its first match against host Malaysia by five runs.

Losing the toss and putting into bat first in the Kuala Lumpur-based Bayuemas Oval Cricket Ground today, Nepal posted a target of 85 runs against the host Malaysia.

Nepal scored 84 at the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Sita Rana Magar was not out with 38 with one four in 54 balls. Similarly, Apsari Begam made 17 followed by 12 from captain Rubina Chhetry Belbase. No other players except the three could make significant contributions to Nepal’s run total.

In return, Malaysia was restricted to a total of 79 runs at the loss of nine wickets in 20 overs. For Malaysia, captain Winifred Duraisingam contributed 28 runs followed by Ainna Hamizah 14, and Mas Elysa 10.

Towards bowling, Ainna Hamizah took two wickets while Mahirah Izzati Ismail, Aisya Eleesa and Nik Nur Atilea took one wicket each.

In the tournament, Nepal has been placed in the group ‘A’ along with Malaysia, Bahrain, Bhutan, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. The group ‘B’ comprises China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Kuwait and Myanmar.

The two top teams from each group will be qualified for the semi-final round and the top two teams making way to the final will be eligible to compete in the Global T-20 qualifier scheduled to take place in 2024.