HoR thematic committees to get leadership today

File Photo

Ten thematic committees under the House of Representative (HoR) are getting their leadership today, after nine months of the parliamentary elections in the country.

The thematic committees include finance, international relations and tourism, industry and commerce and labour and consumer interests, law, justice and human rights, agriculture, cooperative and natural resources committee. Likewise, other committees under the HoR are women and social affairs, state affairs and good governance, infrastructure development, education, health and information technology and public accounts committee.

A meeting to take place at 3.00 pm today will pick presidents of the committees. Nominations were registered for the elections of presidents in 10 thematic committees on Sunday.

According to the Federal Parliament Secretariat, various political parties including the Nepali Congress, CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janata Samajwadi Party, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Janamat Party have submitted their nominations for the leadership of the HoR thematic committees.

A total of 11 candidates have registered their nomination for 10 parliamentary committee presidents. Sole candidacies have been registered in nine committees while two candidacies have been filed for the Industry and Commerce and the Labour and Consumer Interests Committee.

Spokesperson of the Federal Parliament Secretariat Yekram Giri said that the sole candidacy would be declared winner as the president while election will be held if more than candidacies were received. Giri said that the committee presidents will be sworn in on Monday itself.

Rhishikesh Pokhrel, affiliated with the UML party, has submitted his candidacy for the Public Account Committee. Finance Committee receives the candidacy of Santosh Chalise of Nepali Congress while Raj Kishore Yadav of the Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal has filed his candidacy for the President of International Relations and Tourism Committee.

Similarly, Abdul Khan of Janamat and RSP’s Ganesh Parajuli have submitted their candidacies for the Industry and Commerce, and Labour and Consumer Interest Committee respectively. Deepak Bahadur Singh of Rastriya Prajatantra Party has registered candidacy for the Infrastructure Development Committee and Bhanubhakta Joshi of the CPN (Unified Socialist) is for the presidency of the Education, Health and Information Technology Committee.

Similarly, Bimala Subedi of Maoist Centre has filed the nomination for Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee while Arju Rana Deuba filed nomination for Agriculture, Cooperatives and Natural Resources Committee and Kiran Kumar Shah for Women and Social Welfare Affairs Committee, and Ramhari Khatiwada has registered candidacy for the State Affairs and Good Governance Committee.

As informed, Janamat Party’s Khan and RSP’s Parajuli are contesting for the presidency of the Industry and Commerce and Consumer Interests.