Govt. to give compensation for losses caused due to lumpy skin disease

The 51st meeting of the National Development Action Committee has made decisions to provide compensation to the farmers for their losses of livestock caused due to lumpy skin outbreak.

For this, the Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development shall prepare a needed proposal. Similarly, precautions would be applied for the prevention of such diseases in the future.

The meeting, chaired by Prime  Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ was held on Monday at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers. It has also decided to sort out the issues of electricity wire, telephone cable and other obstacles in the preliminary stage of the project meant to end the hindrances seen in the development projects.

The meeting also concluded that infrastructure development projects were delayed for lack of budget to shift the infrastructures like electric and telephone cable. Now onwards, such obstacles will be addressed during the project preparation stage.

Likewise, the state-owned telecommunications infrastructures would be co-used and dual investment would be reduced. For this to materialise, the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology would immediately advance proposals.

Similarly, a taskforce will be formed to prepare a modality on management and use of physical infrastructures, human resources adjustment and related issues between the Tribhuvan University and Rajashri Janak University.

Furthermore, a taskforce would be formed to offer recommendations within three months to control the fragmentation of the agricultural land.

The taskforce to be led by a member of the National Planning Commission will have representation from the Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development, Land Management, Cooperative and Poverty Alleviation and Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation.

Likewise, decision has been made to form a taskforce to offer suggestions within two months for making human resource management of all three tiers of government scientific and professional.

Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Minister for Communications and Information Technology Rekha Sharma, Energy Minister Shakti Bahadur Banset, Foreign Affairs Minister NP Saud, Physical Infrastructure Minister Prakash Jwala, Civil Aviation Minister Sudan Kirati, Urban Development Minister Sita Gurung, Health Minister Mohan Bahadur Basnet and Law Minister Dhanraj Gurung were also present at the meeting.