Committee formed to address parliament secretariat employees’ demands

Kathmandu- A committee has been formed under the chairmanship of Minister of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Padam Giri to deal with the demands of the employees of the Federal Parliament Secretariat.

Three members committee was formed under the leadership of Law Minister Giri at the meeting held in the Prime Minister’s residence Baluwatar on Sunday morning. Law Minster Giri, Parliament Secretary General Padma Prasad Pandey and Finance Secretary Madhu Marasini have been assigned to deal with the demand. Pandey, Secretary General of the Parliament Secretariat and Marasini, Secretary of the Ministry of Finance will be members of the committee.

In the meeting, Prime Minister Puspa kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Speaker Devraj Ghimire, Speaker of National Assembly Narayan Prasad Dahal, Former Prime Minister and chairman of CPN-UML KP Sharma Oli , Finance Minister and current Chief Secretary Dr. BaiKuntha Aryal were participant.

The speaker had been holding formal and informal meetings with related parties for few days about the demands of the Parliament Secretariat staffs.

The employees of Parliament Secretariat are currently on strike with different 11-point demand including facilities and services for their work overtime.