NA Vice-Chair election

Candidates from UML and NC file nomination

Photo: Barsha Shah

Kathmandu, April 9: Bimala Ghimire of the ruling party CPN (UML) and Bishnu Devi Pudasaini from the main opposition Nepali Congress registered their nomination to the post of Vice-Chair of the National Assembly.

The election to the post of NA vice-chair is taking place on Wednesday as the then vice-chair Urmila Aryal resigned from the post.

Ghimire’s nomination was proposed by lawmaker Bhagawati Neupane and seconded by lawmaker Gopi Bahadur Sarki Achhami.

Similarly, Pudasaini’s nomination was proposed by lawmaker Durga Gurung and seconded by lawmaker Narayan Dutta Bhatta.

Talking to media persons after filing candidacy, Ghimire expressed commitment of playing supportive role in all manners to make the NA more dignified and pass the bills in an easy and smooth manner consulting with the NA chair if she wins the election.

Likewise, Pudasaini said she would play a role to enhance the NA’s prestige and thanked the party for making the decision of fielding her for the NA vice-chair post.